About bicycles and other “yerbas”


I have been asked in this forum and others, time and time again, why I do not print digitally. So, I guess is time that I explain this issue the best I can. I have found that digital prints have come a long way. I have seen beautifully black and white photography printed digitally, with fiber based papers, that are gorgeous. The tonality, the perfection, spotless prints. However, through the years, I have come to the conclusion, that photography there is not only about the act of capturing an image, but also the ability to produce beautiful prints. When I work on platinum or gelatin silver printing, I feel that part of my soul is in the photograph. Each stroke of my brush, each burning and dodging, every imperfection that is part of being an artist is in each one of the prints. Are they perfect?, of course not. However, the fact that they are not is what makes that print even more beautiful. That little spotting, the strokes on the border of the image, and many other of the subtleties of hand made print is there, living in the print as long as the print is alive. Each print carries the history and the touch of the artist, in so many ways. By no means I am saying that digital prints are less than hand-made prints, no, not at all, in fact I know well how long it takes somewhat on the computer to produces that perfect image. But, to paraphrase Michael Kenna, digital photographs are like music that your hear on CDs, perfect, beautiful. Hand made prints are like music that you hear on a concert, live, with all imperfections of being an artist. So, this is just some of my thoughts about the subjects. An for the special request, one of the images of the bicycles that I have talked to you about. Enjoy it.

3 thoughts on “About bicycles and other “yerbas”

  1. >EdgarI respect the opinion expressed here but suggest that your musical analogy is flawed. A better comparison would be between music on a CD and music on an album or cassette tape with their scratches, hiss, ticks etc. You're comparing the medium used to record the music and CDs eliminate many things that get in the way of the music being heard clearly. I would argue that digital printing simply eliminates the imperfections built into the non-digital printing process that gets in the way of the actual image being fully enjoyed. If you want to use the live performance music analogy, consider whether a musician would rather perform on a Steinway grand piano or on a student upright. I don't think an artist should ever let his tools limit his ability to express his artwork most fully. The human imperfections you mention that make the work unique are still there in digital prints. But they are part of the art itself rather than the tools used to create it.Just an alternative way to think about it…

  2. >When I read this I felt a quite joy. While I print digitally, I understand, My father did his on prints from film. Works of art as are many chemical prints. The difference is more like that of a fine oil or water color and that of a mass produced print. Art unique created and art like pictures for the masses. Both are art, but only one is unique.Don Grant

Leave a Reply

